Triumph for Hiro Kusuda of Martinborough

NZThe Shiraz/Syrah trophy, Red Wine of Show and Wine of Show were all awarded to New Zealand winemaker Hiro Kusuda of Martinborough for his 2010 Syrah.

Austrade CEO Mr Kevin Gosper acknowledged Australia’s strong support for the Six Nations Wine Challenge at a degustation dinner event held to celebrate the  17 trophy winners in this year’s judging which was held in Sydney in August.                

His Excellency Martyn Dunne CNZM New Zealand’s High Commissioner announced the Doltone House Wine of Show in front of 66 guests including His Excellency Pedro P Diaz Ambassador of Chile, Ricardo Bocalandro Consul General of Argentina, Martin Welsh Consul General of New Zealand, winning Winemakers and Challenge President Judith Kennedy.

Image: NZ Consul General Martin Welsh, Hiro Kusuda, Judith Kennedy and NZ High Commissioner Martyn Dunne CNZM at the trophy dinner.

The celebration event featured all 17 trophy-winning wines matched to the menu.        Challenge judge Huon Hooke announced that Australia had won the title of Nation of Show and also had won four class trophies plus White Wine of Show for a Tasmanian Riesling. New Zealand won three class trophies plus an outstanding result for Kusuda Wines of Martinborough. Winemaker Hiro Kusuda accepted the Shiraz Class trophy, Red Wine of Show Trophy plus Wine of Show for his company’s 2010 Syrah. Argentina won three class trophies and South Africa won two.

In a message from Canberra, U.S. Embassy Deputy Chief of Mission Thomas Dougherty acknowledged that the U.S. is the newest participant country in the Challenge and that their winemakers have demonstrated a great achievement by winning five trophies: Alysian Pinot Noir, Kendall-Jackson Cabernet, Rancho Zabaco Zinfandel, Maryhill Winery Cabernet Merlot Shiraz Blend plus an impressive Gloria Ferrer Sparkling Chardonnay which was served to the dinner guests on arrival, against a twilight backdrop of the city and the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

This Challenge is a unique wine show because all 600 entries came into competition by invitation. All six judges invite the 100 best from their country in order to win Nation of Show or a variety of trophies and to open up new markets for their producers.